 03 9349 5809

 pl@datta.vic.edu.au

Member links

Follow Us

Log in

Educator of the Year Awards - Nominations for our 2023 Awards are Closed

Award WinnersEach year, DATTA Vic celebrates the hard-working, committed and creative Design and Technologies teachers who work in schools throughout Victoria. Please help us celebrate and spread the word about the fantastic work that goes on in our classrooms and workshops every day of the school year.

Congratulations to our Current Award-Holders

The Foster Adem Award for Leadership in Technologies Education

The New to Technologies Teaching Award

The Community Service Award

The Secondary Educator of the Year Award

Michael Slinger,

St. Leonard's College

Letitia Crispin

The Lakes South Morang College

Aaron Dove

Nathalia Secondary College

Brendan Darcy

Kardinia International College

Michael was nominated twice for our 2022 awards. He is an inclusive educator who has a strong vision and is enthusiastic about promoting and extending the reach of Systems Engineering within his school as well as supporting other schools. His blend of theoretical and practical approach as well as his support engenders a sense of enthusiasm in those of us that have been able to work with him.  His nominator told us “Michael has been key in my first year as a systems teacher, he has provided mentoring, as well as teaching material (basically anything he had and I needed). His inclusive approach serves as a model for encouraging and supporting new teachers to teach the systems program, whilst developing their skills.”

Michael is pictured with DATTA Vic's Jacinta O'Leary, as well as his beautiful daughter Heidi!

Letitia has been put in charge of the school's D&T faculty and has worked tirelessly to find new and relevant experiences to engage students. What should be commended is her approach to the subject, being comfortable with seeking help and getting new ideas so that it benefits the student experience back in the classroom. Letitia has worked very closely with the Whittlesea Tech School this year to utilise the support that the Tech School can offer. Her approach in engaging students is to always link the work students complete in the classroom to real world applications.  Not only does this teach the design thinking process but embodies the mindset of a design thinker. She tries to understand her students' needs and prototype classroom ideas with the aim of improving them through student feedback.

Letitia is pictured here receiving her award from DATTA Vic Committee member Jacinta O'Leary.

Aaron works as a Technician 3 days a week at Nathalia Secondary College. Despite being a person with a serious vision impairment, he is a invaluable member of the team. Using his previous knowledge as a carpenter and from working in the mines in WA, he ensures that the Design & Technologies teacher is fully supported with all of this classes. As his nominator told us, “he has total respect from all of the students, and it has enabled them to be aware that life can change and you have to adapt…I couldn’t do my job, nor enjoy it as much as I do, without his support.”

Aaron is pictured receiving his award from DATTA Vic Committee member Jacinta O'Leary.

Brendan teaches VCE Systems Engineering. His nominator told us, “The sheer number of students that take VCE systems at our school is purely through the hard work and dedication that Brendan spends in developing engaging, current and relevant projects that teach students the principals behind engineering. He uses current best practice to deliver programs that teach students the skills required to be leaders in the field in the 21 century.” Brendan is active in helping to improve the quality of Systems Engineering education across the board at Kardinia and is active in helping schools who are offering systems for the first time in their schools helping to set them up with his recourses. He is also an active contributor to DATTA Vic discussions and helping improve the delivery of Systems Engineering Education across the region and state.

The Secondary Educator of the Year Award

The Primary Educator of the Year Award

Lisa White

Viewbank College/ Warrandyte High School

Lisa is always ready to adapt and innovate. She took the arts program to a new high at Viewbank college by embedding technologies in her work. For one project for Year 11 students, she partnered with Dr Onisha Patel, a leading medical researcher and artist to bring the International protein database project to Australia. This led to the first ever Australian entry into the European Protein Database Competition, with two of the student projects being published in their prestigious calendar and a place in the virtual exhibition. Lisa co-developed the year 7 Art/Tech program where students use art and technology skills in a project based learning program with a focus on sustainable development goals.

Christine Gilligan

Glendal Primary School

Chris is the STEM Coordinator at Glendal Primary School, and during her time there, has run a wide range of successful robotics programs for her students. Just this year alone, she coordinated award-winning teams in both VEX robotics and Robocup robotics. At the regional VEX Competition in September, her amazing students won 4 awards, including the Overall Championship Prize for their level and the Teamwork Challenge. Two of her students also took the first and third place spots at the Robo-cup State Competition in the same month! Congratulations Chris for our outstanding achievements.

Congratulations also to the following educators who were shortlisted for our 2022 awards:

  • Lynette Bushell from MacKillop College 
  • Maurice Di Muzio, St Monica's College Epping
  • Bianca Neil from MacKillop College
  • Nicholas Nicholaou from Bentleigh Secondary College
  • Diana Eau from MacKillop College
  • Vicky Rumble from Wantirna College
  • Lou D'Amico from Yarra Valley Grammar
  • Corey Genis from Williamstown High School
  • Rachel Bor from Viewbank College

About the DATTA Vic Educator of the Year Awards

There are 2 ways for an educator to be entered for these awards:

  1. An educator can be nominated
  2. An educator can apply themselves

The award categories are:

  • New to Technologies Teaching
  • Primary Educator of the Year
  • Secondary Educator of the Year
  • The Foster Adem Leadership in Technologies Education Award
  • The Community Service Award

Important Information
  • One of the recipients will be nominated for the DATTA Australia Technology Educator of the Year Award.
  • All nominees must be members of DATTA Vic - either as an individual or through their school.
  • You must provide sound reasons for the nomination/application.
  • The Community Service Award is open to teachers, technicians or support staff.

Recipients of Awards will receive:

  • a gift voucher
  • a certificate

Awards are presented at the DATTA Vic Annual Conference each year.

The winners will be listed in the DATTA Vic News.

A profile of each of the winners including a photo will be included in TECHNOTES.




ABN 97 315 356 383

 03 9349 5809

 pl@datta.vic.edu.au

  Abbotsford Convent

Room C1.22

Convent Building

1 St Heliers Street


VIC 3067

DATTA Vic acknowledges and pays respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, who are the Traditional Owners and ongoing custodians

of the land on which we work.


Copyright 2021 DATTA Vic. All Right Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software